The four stages of our screening decision

Reference: SCR-1

Last Updated 28/07/2017


Our initial consideration of allegations, and our assessment of whether a case requires a full investigation, involves the following four stages, which are intended to work in sequence.

For example, if our assessment about a case at the first stage is that the facts of the case do not appear to be serious enough to affect the fitness to practise of the nurse or midwife concerned, our decision will be that the case does not require investigation. We would not then proceed to the second, third or fourth stages.

The four stages to our screening process are:

  • Whether the apparent facts of the case are serious enough to raise concern that the fitness to practise of a nurse or midwife may be currently impaired, as a result of any risk to members of the public, or the public interest.
  • Whether the referral to us meets our formal requirements.
  • Whether we will be able to obtain credible evidence about the concerns.
  • Whether there is evidence that the nurse or midwife has addressed the concerns involved, so we can be confident that any risk to patients or the public confidence or professional standards has already been met.