NMC Online, HEI Online and our employer and CCPS portals will be unavailable from 18:00 on 27 November to 18:00 on 28 November for essential maintenance. We're sorry for any inconvenience.

Please visit nmc.org.uk/COVID19 for information about temporary registration and changes to how we’re operating during this time.

X

Our services for employers

Find out how we work with employers and other regulators

We work with health and social care employers and other regulators to make sure referrals of nurses, midwives and nursing associates are appropriate and include all the relevant information. We also ensure that the fitness to practise process is timely and efficient.

This is one of the ways in which we uphold the Code, ultimately leading to better care for patients.

A new approach

As part of our new approach to fitness to practise, we want to work more closely with employers to help resolve as many issues as possible, quickly and effectively at a local level. 

Our Employer Link Service work with employers across health and social care in England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. You can find your local Regulation Adviser on the table below:

Region Name Contact details
Northern Ireland Kristian Garsed Kristian.Garsed@nmc-uk.org
Scotland Linda Martin Linda.Martin@nmc-uk.org
Wales Kristian Garsed Kristian.Garsed@nmc-uk.org
North West Sondra Roberto Sondra.Roberto@nmc-uk.org
North West and Isle of Man Louise Robinson (and Isle of Man) Louise.Robinson@nmc-uk.org
North East Mark Brooke Mark.Brooke@nmc-uk.org
East of England Loucia Kyprianou Loucia.Kyprianou@nmc-uk.org
East of England Kate Lettin Kate.Lettin@nmc-uk.org
Midlands Tony Newman Tony.Newman@nmc-uk.org
London Paula Palmer-Charlery Paula.Palmer-Charlery@nmc-uk.org
London Catrin Cassidy Catrin.Cassidy@nmc-uk.org
South East David Porter David.Porter@nmc-uk.org
South West, Jersey and Guernsey Michele Harrison Michele.Harrison@nmc-uk.org

Use our advice line

Our Employer Link Service team operates an advice line for employers and relevant stakeholders in healthcare, who need advice on whether or not to refer a case to the NMC. 

When you call, a member of our team will ask you for the following information:

  • Your name
  • Your job title
  • Your place of work
  • Your phone number
  • Brief details about the issue in question and your reasons for seeking advice from us
  • The name and PIN of the nurse, midwife or nursing associate
  • Whether you are willing to complete a survey about the quality of the call, and if so we will ask for your email address

We need these details so that they can be passed on to one of our Regulation advisers, who will then contact you to ask for any further information and to provide advice.

If you email us with your enquiry, please also include the above information. 

We listen to employers and share information

We listen to feedback on local issues from employers and relevant stakeholders to help improve our processes.

We actively take part in local health sector forums, such as risk and quality summits.

If you would like to share information about our services for employers with your organisation in print form, you can download the printer-friendly leaflet below.

NMC services for employers 

Our Regulation advisers can provide learning sessions about fitness to practise and other core functions of the NMC. We also offer inductions for Directors of Nursing.

Get in touch

Contact us by email   
Or call the advice line  020 7462 8850  Monday to Friday, 09:00 to 17:00.