Working with us when managing concerns

Last Updated 02/02/2021

Overview

Back to top

We want to work more closely with you to help resolve as many issues as possible locally, quickly and effectively.

This is part of our new approach to fitness to practise.

Get advice

Back to top

We know there’ll always be times when you want to talk things through.

For example, you might think a possible referral is ‘borderline’ and that a little more guidance would be helpful. Or you may just want us to confirm your own conclusions.

Whatever the situation, we strongly encourage you to always speak with one of our experienced Regulation Advisers before making a referral to us.

Please get in touch with us by either calling on 020 7462 8850 or by email.

Somebody in our team will ask you for:

  • your name, job title, place of work, phone number and email address
  • details about the issue and your reasons for seeking advice from us 
  • the name and PIN of the nurse, midwife or nursing associate.

Our Employer Link Service works with employers across health and social care in England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. You can find your local Regulation Adviser on the table below:

Employer Link Service

Back to top

We also offer inductions about fitness to practise, these are for senior members of your nursing and midwifery teams, such as Chief Nurses, or Directors or Heads of nursing and midwifery.

We also provide group learning sessions about fitness to practise and our other core regulatory functions, including the Code and our education standards.

To find out more, please get in touch by emailing us.

If you’d like to share information about our services for employers with your organisation in print, you can download the printer-friendly leaflet on our service for employers.

Region Name Contact details
Northern Ireland Kristian Garsed Kristian.Garsed@nmc-uk.org
Scotland Linda Martin Linda.Martin@nmc-uk.org
Wales Kristian Garsed Kristian.Garsed@nmc-uk.org
North West and Isle of Man Paula Palmer-Charlery Paula.Palmer-Charlery@nmc-uk.org
North East Mark Brooke Mark.Brooke@nmc-uk.org
East of England Loucia Kyprianou Loucia.Kyprianou@nmc-uk.org
East of England Kate Lettin Kate.Lettin@nmc-uk.org
Midlands Tony Newman Tony.Newman@nmc-uk.org
London Catrin Cassidy Catrin.Cassidy@nmc-uk.org
South East David Porter David.Porter@nmc-uk.org
South West, Jersey and Guernsey Michele Harrison Michele.Harrison@nmc-uk.org
Regulation Adviser, Team Leader Loucia Kyprianou Loucia.Kyprianou@nmc-uk.org
Regulation Adviser, Team Leader Louise Robinson Louise.Robinson@nmc-uk.org

Engaging with us

As the professional regulator for nurses and midwives and nursing associates we must respond to concerns brought to our attention which fall within our remit regarding:

  • the practice or conduct of any of the professionals on our register
  • an environment deemed unsafe for students, or  not appropriate or effective for student learning
  • issues relating to registration, such as people practising while not on the register, without indemnity or having joined the register without meeting our registration requirements.

If you have any concerns or any concerns are raised with you about any of the above, it’s your responsibility as an employer to be open and proactive in your response to concerns and to decide whether to refer professionals on our register to us. 

Our employer resource has been developed to support you to effectively respond to concerns about a nurse, midwife or nursing associate’s conduct or practice.  We would also encourage you to speak with our Employer Link Service for advice on making a referral, if necessary.

Where we become aware of the types of concerns raised above, we may contact you to request information. In that event, we ask you to respond to our enquiries as quickly as possible so that we can make decisions without delay.  

We always welcome proactive communication from employers at the earliest stage that concerns arise so that we can decide the most appropriate action to address any concerns. 

Want to download and print whole sections of the resource? Visit the downloads page.