Meet the midwifery panel

Our Midwifery Panel plays a hugely important role in giving us the straight-talking, high-level advice we need to make decisions that affect midwives and mothers right across the UK. Established in November 2015, the panel is made up of the Chief Nursing Officers from the four countries of the UK, representatives from our Council, the Royal College of Midwives and other leading midwifery figures.

The panel meets four times a year and their discussions, debates and decisions are reported to our Council. All of this work means that the voice of midwifery has a direct impact on the decisions we make.

Meet the members of the panel:

Jackie Smith - Chief Executive, NMC - Midwifery Panel Chair

Dr Anne Wright CBE - Lay member, NMC Council

Lorna Tinsley - Registrant member, NMC Council

Professor Charlotte McArdle - Chief Nursing Officer for Northern Ireland

Professor Ann Holmes - Chief Midwifery Advisor and Associate Chief Nursing Officer for the Scottish Government

Professor Jean White CBE - Chief Nursing Officer for Wales

Professor Jane Cummings - Chief Nursing Officer for England

Dr Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent OBE - Professor of Midwifery

Gill Walton - Chief Executive, Royal College of Midwives

Donna Ockenden - Senior Midwifery Adviser, NMC

Professor Mary Renfrew FRSE - University of Dundee

Cath Broderick - Lay member

Professor Janice Sigsworth - Director of Nursing at Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Geraldine Walters CBE - Director of Education, Standards and Policy, NMC

Lord Willis of Knaresborough - Member of the House of Lords

Leigh Kendall FRSA - Maternity campaigner and communications expert