Standards of proficiency for registered nurses

Our new standards of proficiency represent the skills, knowledge and attributes all nurses must demonstrate.

Standards of proficiency

Please note our new standards may be used from
28 January 2019. Helpful FAQs can be found at the bottom of this page but if you can’t find what you’re looking for, feel free to email us.

Our new standards of proficiency (Cymraeg) have been updated to take into account the changes taking place in society and health care, and the implications these changes have for registered nurses.

There are now seven platforms within the new standards of proficiency for registered nurses which are important to understand because they:

  • represent the knowledge, skills and attributes that all registered nurses must demonstrate when caring for people of all ages and across all care settings.
  • reflect what the public can expect nurses to know and be able to do in order to deliver safe, compassionate and effective nursing care.
  • provide a benchmark for nurses from the EEA, EU and overseas wishing to join the register.
  • provide a benchmark for those who plan to return to practice after a period of absence.

What are the seven platforms?

  • Being an accountable professional
  • Promoting health and preventing ill health
  • Assessing needs and planning care
  • Providing and evaluating care
  • Leading and managing nursing care and working in teams
  • Improving safety and quality of care
  • Coordinating care

This document is available as a easy read and a print friendly version (Cymraeg).

Your future nurse

We have also created a leaflet (Cymraeg) that explains more about the importance of these standards for those who are not from a healthcare or education background.

Using the standards

It is important to read both sets of standards, Future nurse: Standards of Proficiency for registered nurses and Realising professionalism: Standards for education and training together. The latter consists of:

Part 1: Standards framework for nursing and midwifery education;
Part 2: Standards for student supervision and assessment; and
Part 3: Standards for pre-registration nursing programmes

Reading both sets together provides a complete picture of:

  • what nurses and midwives need to know and be able to do, by the time they register with us
  • what approved education institutions (AEIs) and their practice placement partners must provide when delivering education and training courses.

How these standards were developed

For the past two years we have been developing these standards with input from stakeholders across the UK. We put our proposals to consultation in summer 2017 and listened closely to the feedback we received. Find out more about how the standards were developed.

We’re planning to start the approval process for programmes delivering these new standards later this year. From 28 January 2019 all approvals will be made against these new standards.

After 1 September 2020, only programmes approved against these new standards will be able to accept new students and meet our requirements for award and registration.

Students already on programmes will continue under the present standards and will meet the requirements for annotation against their current NMC registration.

Programmes with approvals under the pre-2018 standards (2006 Standards of Proficiency for nurse and midwife prescribers), will continue to meet our registration requirements and can be delivered until the end of August 2020. After the 1 September 2020 only programmes approved against the new standards for prescribing programmes will be able to accept new students and to meet our requirements for registration.

Your chosen approved education institution (AEI) will be able to confirm the standards to which your programme complies.

If you’re starting your new course in September 2018, your programme will be approved against the pre-2018 standards.

From 28 January 2019, we’ll gradually approve new programmes against the new standards.

Your chosen approved education institution (AEI) will be able to confirm the standards to which your programme complies.

Students can start a programme against either standards until the end of August 2020. After that date, new students will only join programmes approved against the new standards.

We have a listing of Approved Programmes.  You may also contact the relevant AEI for the status of approval of their programme.

Approved programmes

All approved education institutions (AEIs) will need to meet the requirements for approval against the new standards. They will need to develop their curriculum in partnership with their practice partners to ensure compliance with all the significant changes, such as student assessment.

The programme will need to be approved against the new standards by the end of August 2020.