Cancelling your registration

How to cancel your registration

There may be a number of reasons why you want to cancel your registration with us. For example you may be moving abroad, retiring from practice or changing career.

If you want to cancel your registration, you can do this by logging in to your NMC Online account. If you don’t already have an account, you can set one up here.

Once you have logged in to your account, the option to cancel your registration will appear in the drop down menu under account services.

You can choose to cancel your registration up to 30 days before the date you wish to leave our register.

Once your registration has been cancelled you will not be able to practise as a registered nurse or midwife in the UK from this time.

If you are receiving pay as a nurse or midwife while on maternity, sick or annual leave, you will need to maintain your registration with us throughout this period.

If you are subject to a current fitness to practise referral and wish to leave the register, you would need to apply for voluntary removal from the register.

If you want to re-join the register at a later date, you will need to make an application for readmission through your NMC Online account. This process can take between two and six weeks. Find out more about the readmission process.