We launched a new version of the Test of Competence (ToC) for nurses and midwives on 2 August 2021.

Find out more about the Test of Competence 2021.

The legacy version of the nursing and midwifery test will be available for some candidates during a transition period of up to 12 months. 

This doesn't affect people applying to join the register as a nursing associate - you will continue to take the existing nursing associate ToC.

Read this guide if you:

  • You are eligible to complete the legacy 2014 Test of Competence for nurses and midwives because you sat an attempt at either the CBT or the OSCE before 2 August 2021, or
  • You are taking the Test of Competence as a nursing associate.

What will I need to do?

You will need to take a test that's specific to the part of the register you're applying to join or rejoin. These are:

  • adult nursing
  • children's nursing
  • learning disabilities nursing
  • mental health nursing
  • midwifery
  • nursing associate.

Each Test of Competence is split into two parts:

  • Part one is a multiple-choice computer based test known as the CBT.
  • Part two is a practical test known as the OSCE.

You can sit your CBT or OSCE in any order, but you must successfully complete both parts to continue with your application for initial registration or readmission.