

List of accepted English-speaking countries

Our list is based on the UK Border Agency's list of majority English-speaking countries, with the addition of those countries for which we have independent evidence that they are majority English-speaking.

We consider the following countries to be majority English-speaking:

- Antigua and Barbuda
- Anguilla
- Australia
- The Bahamas
- Barbados
- Belize
- Bermuda
- British Indian Ocean Territory
- Canada
- Cayman Islands
- Dominica
- Falkland Islands
- Gibraltar
- Grenada
- Guernsey
- Guyana
- Ireland
- Isle of Man
- Jamaica
- Jersey
- Malta
- New Zealand
- Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
- St Kitts and Nevis
- St Lucia
- St Vincent and the Grenadines
- Trinidad and Tobago
- United Kingdom
- United States of America
- US Virgin Islands

It was last updated in February 2020.

Check our website for more information about our English language requirements: www.nmc.org.uk/english-language