Please visit nmc.org.uk/COVID19 for information about our recent announcements including temporary registration and changes to how we’re operating during this time.

X

Reviewing our post-registration standards

Once a nurse or midwife is registered with us, they can do a NMC-approved course to become a specialist community public health nurse (SCPHN) for a public health role, including working as a school nurse, health visitor or occupational health nurse.

Nurses can also gain NMC-approved specialist practice qualifications (SPQs).

We’re now reviewing the standards of proficiency and the associated programme standards we set for these roles. 

This is to ensure practitioners are equipped with the knowledge, skills and attributes they need to deliver high quality care now and in the future.

What we’ve done so far

In 2018 we published our education framework, new standards for education and training and new standards for student supervision and assessment. Both of these sets of standards also apply to our post-registration standards.

Also in 2018, we commissioned an independent evaluation of our SCPHN and SPQ post-registration standards to help inform our approach.

Download the independent evaluation

These findings will inform the next stages of our review and we’ll start to talk to interested nurses and midwives more about this later this year.

What we are doing

Our Council met in May 2020 and reaffirmed the importance of this work and our need to work with others to co-produce the new standards.

We want our new standards to be ambitious and transformative, and we know we’ll only achieve that if we work collaboratively with our stakeholders. We need to draw on their experience and hear a diverse range of voices from all backgrounds, including practitioners, patients, people who use services, employers, educators and other partners to co-create the new standards.

Webinars

We’ve arranged a series of webinars where you can find out more.

If you weren't able to attend, we've published the slides and recording for each webinar below

Webinar Time and date Register
Future specialist practice qualifications (SPQ): general practice nursing 1 September 2020, 16:00 - 17:00 Register
Future specialist practice qualifications (SPQ): community mental health nursing 9 September 2020, 10:00 - 11:00 Register
Future specialist practice qualifications (SPQ): community learning disabilities nursing 9 September 2020, 12:30 - 13:30 Register
Future specialist practice qualifications (SPQ): community children’s nursing

10 September 2020, 14:00 - 15:00

Register

Future specialist practice qualifications (SPQ): district nursing

10 September 2020, 16:00 - 17:00

Register

Previous webinars

Future specialist public health nursing: SCPHN core standards (for school nurses, occupational health nurses and health visitors)

29 June 2020,
12:00 - 13:00

Download slides

Watch webinar

Future specialist community nursing: standards for SPQ nurses 30 June 2020,
13:00 - 14:00

Download slides

Watch webinar

Future specialist public health nursing: bespoke standards for SCPHN school nurses 10 July 2020,
13:00 - 14:00

Download slides

Watch webinar

Future specialist public health nursing: bespoke standards for SCPHN occupational health nursing 15 July 2020,
13:00 - 14:00

Download slides 


Watch webinar

Future specialist public health nursing: bespoke standards for SCPHN health visitors 21 July 2020,
13:00 - 14:00

Download slides 

Watch webinar

Next steps

Given the ongoing social distancing restrictions, we will continue to use digital methods such as online meetings to help shape our thinking for the development of new draft standards for consultation. As these events are confirmed, we will ensure details are widely circulated.


We plan to formally consult on these standards in January 2021. We aim to introduce these new standards in September 2021.

 

Join our interest group

If you would like to stay in touch with this work, you can join our post-registration standards community of interest group by emailing us at prscoi@nmc-uk.org.

If you have any questions, you can email EducationandStandards@nmc-uk.org.

Answering your questions

What is a SCPHN?

Registered nurses and midwives can join the SCPHN part of our register by taking an approved SCPHN programme and by achieving our SCPHN standards of proficiency.

Some SCPHN areas of practice are identified on our register, including health visitors (HV), school nurses (SN), occupational health nurses (OHN).

Other people will be on the register as SCPHNs without a field of practice identified – they may work in more generic public health roles.

What is a SPQ?

Specialist Practice Qualifications (SPQ) are optional recordable qualifications that meet our standards but do not lead to admission to a part of the register or any protected title and function.

There are currently 9 different SPQs: district nursing, general practice nursing, adult nursing, children’s nursing, community children’s nursing, learning disabilities nursing, community learning disabilities nursing, mental health nursing, and community mental health nursing.